Louisiana is a state that requires that drivers are held responsible for their actions in the event of an accident. This means that each driver must purchase Louisiana auto insurance coverage. The basic coverage is called liability coverage. In the state, this covers $25,000 for property damage, $15,000 per victim who is injured or killed and $30,000 per accident for injuries or deaths or more than one person. People who do not follow the law will face fines and they can also have their registration suspended so they will not be able to operate their vehicle. Some people purchase auto insurance coverage and then cancel it to try to play the system. The state now has an electronic reporting system so that police officers can electronically verify if a driver has legitimate coverage on their vehicle.
People who have financed vehicles will probably want to consult with an insurance agent about collision and comprehensive coverage. These two types of coverage can work together to cover a car in the event that it is damaged, totaled, stolen, or destroyed due to the weather. The coverage is more expensive but it protects the car whereas liability coverage alone does not allow the driver to file a claim for any repairs. The out of pocket costs alone can be daunting which is why collision and comprehensive is a much more efficient approach to insuring financed cars.
It is important for drivers to minimize their financial liabilities because accidents happen frequently and anyone can make an error. Lawsuits can be a tough consequence to deal with after being ruled at fault for an accident while being uninsured. Louisiana drivers can work together with insurance agents so that they can explore all of the different types of policies so that they can follow the law.